Book Review – Sanford Hospital by Ron Ripley

Another short book review. This time I’m reviewing the 4th book in the Berkley Street horror series by Ron Ripley (Team Scarestreet) – Sanford Hospital.

sanford-hospitalI loved how simple the horror is in this series. As always, it’s not overdone or complex or confusing. It’s simple and yet there’s always a new twist to it with each book in this series. The twists keep it inventive and new so I don’t get bored with the same old thing. New characters have always been added and, as usual, I like them. Brother Francis is the new main character and he rocks!

There were times I got seriously angry though. The nurse was so horrible and the people following her were just as bad. I couldn’t believe there were living people who believed she was in the right! It made me so mad because it was obvious to me that she was just killing people left and right with no real regard to their pain and suffering. If I’m being honest, I was also a bit scared sometimes. It takes a lot to actually frighten me with a book because I know it’s not real etc. I don’t mean I got scared in that sense. I mean that I was scared for Shane. I was worried this ghost would prove to be too much for him and he’d die. And I felt sooo bad for him. He’s falling apart and I find it so sad. I hope he rallies and gets better or he’s going to drink himself into an early grave. 😦

If you’re the kind of reader who loves the gore, this book has it though not in abundance. It’s not like other horror books that saturate their stories in gruesome slaughters and descriptive nasties. This isn’t about grossing readers out or seeing how much the author can shock you. This is about spooks and the scares they bring though, honestly, it has less of the spooky scares the first two books had. This book (as well as the last one) is more about busting the killer spook rather than the killer spook scaring the bejeezers out of readers. It’s too bad about that, but it’s still a good book.

And it DOES still have gore so consider yourself warned if you don’t like that sort of thing. But, really, if you’re not okay with at least some of that and you’re looking at horror books…well…all I can say is that you’re probably delving into the wrong genre. It’s not often I find a horror book that doesn’t have at least some gore.

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Books and Authors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

