Where has the time gone?

Wow! Life got super busy. I haven’t been writing since I finished Psyche because I’ve been reading and working on my fitness classes. Those classes used to be my “real” job. Now they really are a real job! Subbing, training, and my regular classes are taking up a ton of time (preparation still takes awhile for me sometimes). Then there’s my mommy duties, misc stuff, reading and I’m swamped! Also I may or may not have been playing video games when I shouldn’t have been a couple weeks back.

I don’t give a review for everything I read (especially here), but here are the books I’ve been indulging in:

  • Kurkow Prison by Ron Ripley (Team Scarestreet) audiobook presently reading
  • Dragons of Autumn Twilight by Margaret Weiss & Tracy Hickman presently reading
  • Captain Underpants #9 by Dav Pilkey presently reading
  • Grimm Fairy Tales Vol 1 by Ralph Tedesco presently reading
  • Sanford Asylum by Ron Ripley (Team Scarestreet) audiobook
  • Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton audiobook
  • Treat by Mary E Twomey
  • Red Winter by Annette Marie
  • Dark Tempest by Annette Marie
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker audiobook
  • Captain Underpants #1-7, 11, 12 by Dav Pilkey
  • The Lighthouse by Ron Ripley (Team Scarestreet) audiobook
  • The Town of Griswold by Ron Ripley (Team Scarestreet) audiobook
  • Tempt by Mary E Twomey

Yeeeeaaah…I read a lot of audiobooks. Mainly to save my eyes. And then all the Captain Underpants books are bedtime reading for my son. Honestly, though, I really suggest adults read them too. They’re hilarious! It’s my son’s current favorite series.

We discovered the series with #8 back in January or so and read in whatever order we could get them. He has fabulous memory when it comes to these stories but each book gives a short recap of what happened before if the two books are connected. If not, it gives a short recap of how Captain Underpants became Captain Underpants. We’re almost done with #9 and then he just checked out #10 yesterday from his school’s library so we’ll be done with the series within the week.

That Grimm Fairy Tales book is a graphic novel and it kinda sucks. I was hoping for some interesting stories but they’re pretty ho hum with some even being annoying. Very disappointed. I checked out 4 volumes from the library but I think I’ll return them all after I’ve finished this first volume. As you can see from my reading list above, I don’t have time for boring books.

My Goodreads reading challenge for 2017 is to read 150 books this year. Last year I challenged myself to read 100 and I went way over. Yay! So far I’ve finished 32 books and am 5 books ahead of schedule.

I’m sure I’ll fall into a groove by April…or May…at which point I’ll start incorporating writing back into my schedule. I’m sorry to say but when writing doesn’t pay the bills, it gets set on the back burner if there’s something else that does.

I just need to finish all this training crap and get settled into my new SilverSneakers classes and then everything will be good.

*fingers crossed*

However, one good thing! Night’s Treasure will be free for awhile on instaFreebie! So get it while you can! And please please PLEASE if you read it, leave a review on Amazon. Nobody knows if my books are any good if no one reviews them. I’m not above begging…that’s why I’ve put it up for free on instaFreebie. I’ll give the book to anybody who shows even a modicum of interest at this point if it’ll garner me some reviews. Obviously, I’ll give it away even if it doesn’t get me reviews because so far that’s what I’ve been doing.

Happy reading!

 

About Katie St. John-Shin

I believe in living life and not letting it pass you by. I mean, come on, if you really want to do something but don't have the courage to do it so you let the opportunity disappear, you may regret it for the rest of your life. How can you know what you're capable of unless you go for it? Like every writer, I naturally plan on becoming a world-famous writer. I love reading, writing, fitness, coffee, watching my favorite movies/shows, listening to music, and trying new things even if they're sometimes terrifying. I'm a stay-at-home mom, a writer, and a POP Pilates instructor. I didn't think I'd succeed at that last one but I did it! I confronted my fears, dealt with things I didn't want to deal with, and completed the training! POP Pilates classes are coming soon to mid-Nebraska!
This entry was posted in Night's Treasure, Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

